The Liebster Award

Wow, what an honor!   I’ve never been nominated for anything!   The blogging community is so fun, interesting, exciting, friendly and eclectic.  Where else would you have a worldwide-traveling, journalism student nominating a quilting, country-living grandma for an award!  I want to thank Tommy for nominating me.  I am truly honored that he considered me.

Tommy has been blogging for many, many years although he is such a young man.  On the other hand, I have not.  Although I love to write, I have never shared any of my work, except with my professors when I was in college.  So I find this blogging thing to be very challenging and a whole lot of fun.

So, what is the Liebster Award?   I didn’t know either!  But Tommy explained it well in his blog post when he was nominated.   He stated that “it celebrates writers who enjoy the craft of writing, allows readers to get to know those bloggers in a more informal context” as well as allowing me “to point you toward ten blogs.”

As a nominee of the Liebster Award, I have 5 obligations to fulfill:

  1.  I’m to thank my nominator
  2. Display the award on my blog
  3. Answer 10 questions about myself
  4. Nominate 10 blogs for this award; and
  5. Notify the bloggers that I nominated them.

Instead of reinventing the wheel, I am just going to answer the same 10 questions as Tommy in his blog post:

Why did you start blogging?

I started blogging because I enjoy writing.  After working for over 30 years, I am now a stay-at-home mom.  Blogging gives me a creative writing outlet.

How do you feel about being nominated?

I was truly honored.  As I explained above, this community is truly a blessing.  People from many diverse backgrounds are interacting intellectually, sharing ideas and respecting each others’ work.   The written page doesn’t have boundaries, stigmas or prejudices.

What is your opinion about Blogging101?

I have so enjoyed the assignments.  I am a little behind, but I have learned a great deal working through the assignments from the technical to the introspective.  I was so disappointed today when I found I missed the registration deadline for next month’s class.  😦

What are your hobbies other than blogging?

I love to read, sail, quilt and hand sew.

What inspires you the most?

I find inspiration in reading my Bible as well as Christian Apologetics.  Healthy living and fitness are struggles for me that I like to share as I grow.  Feminism and marriage really get my fingers flying as does politics, leadership and accountability.  I’ve found through the Blogging 101 course that word prompts can also be inspiring.

Is this your first/only blog or do you have other blogs too?

This is it other than my personal journal.  This is my go to site to share what I learn with others.

How would you describe your blog?

My blog is evolving and growing as I do.  Through Blogging 101, I have found myself writing about subjects that I’ve never intended to share.

What are the things that annoy you?

Now, I did write a blog post on this.

Who would you want to be if you were reborn?

God’s word tells me that “I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are marvelous and my soul knows it very well.”  So, I believe I was made exactly how I was supposed to be.

What is the message you want to give to your readers through your blog?

That God loves them.  He has a plan for us.  No one is a mistake.  That He has given us direction and, as much as we think we know better than He, we do not.  He asks us to love each other because that is what we need.   He asks us to forgive each other because in forgiving others our lives will be better.  He asks us to allow authority in our lives because that prevents chaos.  Most of all, He asks us to believe in His Son because then we get to spend eternity with Him.

That’s me in a nutshell!  And now, I nominate the following bloggers for the Liebster Award!

Make Every Day Count

Is There Room For Me To Sew

The Romantic Vineyard

Such Small Hands

The Transient Photographer

Ashley Cutwa Photography

Fat Mom to Fit Mom

I’m sorry that I’ve only included 7 bloggers, not 10.   I’ve only been blogging a few weeks and I don’t yet follow 10 bloggers.

 

Leave a Reply

