It’s Monday and I Made It!

Wow, this past week has been outrageous!  So little and yet so much has happened.  Initially, I started out with the hope of finishing our “tour” of Europe (last stop Germany); our book on George Müller; Group 33 in Spelling Power and our semester of Math so that we could start Monday fresh:  a new continent (Africa); a new country (Kenya); a new book, David Livingston; a new spelling group (34) and new Math (3A).   And we did accomplish all that!  So today, we are starting new!

However, I don’t want to leave behind all that I learned last week.  As a home school mom, I often learn as much as my son does, and the study of George Müller’s life is no different.  His life was absolutely fascinating and enlightening to me.

Many times, as much as I do not want to be the Pharisee in Luke 18, (You know the guy who lists everything wonderful about himself for all to hear!  Ugh, loser~!)  I pray with words I hope are going to impress God enough to listen to my needs.  (Have I thanked Him enough; Have I humbled myself enough; Have I waited long enough before getting to the asking?)  I forget that I am praying to the All Powerful, All Mighty God, the One who already knows my heart.

George Müller, he did none of these things.  He got on his knees and boldly asked God to cover his need.  No flowery speeches, no unnecessary words or cajoling efforts out of George Müller.  George knew that if God called him to accomplish a mission, then God would meet all the necessities associated with that mission.

The book* recounts the day when George had no breakfast for the orphans.  George and his staff were responsible for feeding 300 children.  Picture it.  The dining table was set; the children were standing behind their chairs patiently fidgeting.  There was no food on the table.  No oatmeal, no toast, no milk.  Nothing.  George enters the dining hall.  Looks at the children; looks at the table; and says

“There’s not much time.  I don’t want any of you to be late for school, so let us pray.  Dear God, we thank you for what you are going to give us to eat.  Amen.”

Wait, What?  That’s it?!    That’s all you’re going to say?   Yes, that is all he said.  And God answered.   There’s a knock on the door.   It’s the Baker with enough loaves of bread to feed all of the children plus some left over for a snack later.   Another knock on the door.  It’s the milkman.   His milk cart is broken down in front of the orphanage, and he wonders if George could help him by lightening his load so he could fix his cart!  Again, there was plenty of milk left over for teatime.  Whew! Our God is Amazing.

The lessons I learned from Mr. Müller’s life are

(1) Don’t be so dramatic about my needs;

(2) Don’t over think my problems;

(3) Nothing is too inconsequential to bring to God; and

(4) Don’t think I need to impress Him before I ask Him.  He knows my motives anyway.

Mr. Müller reminded me of how Awesome, Mighty and Powerful God  is.    So, I got down on my knees and asked God, plainly “God, I’ve never been to Peyton’s birthday party, and I would really like to go.  If it’s Your will for me to go, then You will just have to make a way because I don’t know how I can. Thank you.  Amen.”   That was it.   Peyton is my granddaughter who lives in Arizona.    The cost of the airline ticket from New York to Arizona is far more than I could afford to spend.   So, I waited on God.  The very next day, my daughter, Peyton’s mom, called me.   She was looking of the airline tickets.    Long story short, the ticket for my round-trip flight was HALF THE COST of what it was the previous day.  My daughter immediately purchased the ticket.  My share of the trip is only ONE QUARTER of what it would usually cost to go.  GOD IS GOOD, AND ALL THE TIME HE IS GOOD.

So, I will continue to practice the lessons I learned from George Müller; keep it short, keep it simple and give it all to God.   He already knows anyway.

I Made It Monday

*Benge, Janet & Geoff, George Müller: The Guardian of Bristol’s Orphans, YWAM Publishing (2013), p. 166-169.

Leave a Reply

